The Good Life

The Good Life „Everybody’s Coming Down“

Seit dem letzten The Good Life-Album „Help Wanted Nights“ (2007) sind handgezählte acht Jahre verstrichen, in denen Tim Kasher, das umtriebigste wilde Kind des Indie-Rock, selbstverständlich alles andere als untätig war.

The Good Life "Everybody's Coming Down"
The Good Life „Everybody’s Coming Down“
Es ist gleichermaßen bemerkenswert und logisch, wie nah The Good Life auf „Everybody’s Coming Down“ an Kashers Solo-Werke und seine lärmig-progressive Band Cursive gerückt sind: Dissonante Lärm-Übergriffe demontieren grimmig die Songstrukturen, die Band tobt und wütet; nur Augenblicke später dominieren zarte Harmonie und süßer Schmerz das Bild. Zerrissen wirkt das. Und schonungslos authentisch. Hier stürzen die vielen musikalischen Egos des Tim Kasher in all ihrer Genialität nahtlos in- und aufeinander.

Omaha, NE’s The Good Life returns this summer with their 1rst album in eight years, Everybody’s Coming

Down. Call it a soundtrack to Man’s 21st century existential angst, the album poses cosmic queries, contemplates regrets, questions self-worth, and examines the possibility of living in the moment, when memories are all that we truly take with us. And in some ways, that’s the sweet spot front man and lyricist Tim Kasher inhabits: trying to make sense of this world of ours, and how and why we navigate it the way we do.

The Good Life
The Good Life
Everybody’s Coming Down moves in a new direction musically and, in contrast to The Good Life’s earlier releases, is very much a rock record. It is also the _rst that truly embodies the band as a whole, more so than any previous album. In blending elements of drummer Roger L. Lewis’s love of classic rock, multi-instrumentalist Ryan Fox’s chaotic approach to melody, Stefanie Drootin-Senseney’s propulsive, tuneful bass parts and colorful vocal arrangements, and Kasher’s deft, complementary song writing, the band sparked a vibrant evolution in sound. The gentler, folk-driven pop/rock for which the band is beloved remains (sonic sister album bookends “7 In The Morning” and “Midnight Is Upon Us;” “The Troubadour’s Green Room”), but it is now mixed amongst guitars lines that unspool in a blaze across songs that hit harder and more viscerally (“Everybody,” “Holy Shit”), as well as moments of distorted psychedelia and moody ambience (“Flotsam Locked Into A Groove,” “Diving Bell,” “How Small We Are”). Kasher began writing songs for a new album in October 2013, and the quartet – balancing their busy lives and multiple projects – reconvened from July to December 2014 to finish writing what became Everybody’s Coming Down. With the help of Ben Brodin in Omaha’s ARC Studios, The Good Life started recording in January of this year and _nished the album in their respective homes. The band then turned to John Congleton (St. Vincent, Baroness, Angel Olsen, Cloud Nothings) to mix the album at his Elmwood Recording in Dallas, TX, looking to his experienced hand and uninhibited style to maintain and further realize the album’s untempered, vital sound.

And vital it is: Everybody’s Coming Down might not crack the ever-elusive code to our universal wonderings, but it’ll make you think, illuminate a new or alternative perspective, perhaps salve a lonely ache of isolation.

Because we are, ultimately, all in this together – forever coming down.

The Good Life [US]
Everybody’s Coming Down / VÖ:14.08.2015
01 7 in the Morning
02 Everybody
03 The Troubadour’s Green Room
04 Holy Shit
05 Flotsam Locked into a Groove
06 Forever Coming Down
07 Happy Hour
08 Diving Bell
09 Skeleton Song
10 How Small We Are
11 Ad Nausea
12 Midnight Is Upon Us